k2 articles

Prenecon's Technical Standards


Technical Standards is an establishment norm or requirements about technocal systems. Is is usually a formal document that establishes uniform engineering or technical criteria, methods, process and practices.

EC-1: Basis of design and actions on structures

EC-2: Design of reinforced concrete structure

EC-7: Geotechnical design and foundations

EC-8: Earthquake resistant design and structures

IEC 61400-1: Loads of wind turbine generations systems

IEC 60502: Power cables with extruded insulation and their accesories for rated volatages from 1KV up to 30KV


EuroCodes (EC)

Are a set of pan-European model building codes, developed by the European Committee for Standardisation. The Eurocodes form a common European set of structural design codes for civil engineering work.By March 2010 the Eurocodes will be mandatory for European public works and likely to become the de-facto standard for the private sector. The Eurocodes will therefore replace the existing national codes published by national standard bodies (e.g.  BS, DIN, etc), although many countries will have a period of co-existence. At the moment some Eurocodes are still in a trial phase, so they are characterised as ENV instead of EN until they are officially adopted. Additionally, each country is expected to issue a National Annex to the Eurocodes which will need referencing for a particular country (e.g. The UK National Annex)


EN 1990 : Basis of structrural design

EN 1991 : (EC 1) Actions on structures

EN 1992 : (EC 2) Design of concrete structures

EN 1993 : (EC 3) Design of steel structures

EN 1994 : (EC 4) Design of composite steel and concrete structures

EN 1995 : (EC 5) Design of timber structures

EN 1996 : (EC 6) Design of masonry structures

EN 1997 : (EC 7) Geotechnical design

EN 1998 : (EC 8) Design of structures for earthquake resistance

EN 1999 : (EC 9) Design of aluminium structures

European Cement Standard EN197-1

European Aggregates Standard EN 12620

European Concrete Standard EN 206-1

European Steel Standard EN 10080

EN 12350: Testing fresh concrete

EN 12930: Testing hardened concrete


International Electrotechnical Commission



Is a non-profit, non-governmental international standards organization that prepares and publishes International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies – collectively known as "electrotechnology". IEC standards cover a vast range of technologies from power generation, transmission and distribution to home appliances and office equipment, semiconductors, fibre optics, batteries, solar energy, nanotechnology and marine energy as well as many others. The IEC also manages three global conformity assessment systems that certify whether equipment, system or components conform to its International Standards.The IEC charter embraces all electrotechnologies including energy production and distribution, electronics, magnetics and electromagnetics, electroacoustics, multimedia and telecommunication, as well as associated general disciplines such as terminology and symbols, electromagnetic compatibility , measurement and performance, dependability, design and development, safety and the environmen.


IEC 60027 Letter symbols to be used in electrical technology

IEC 60076 Power Transformers

IEC 60099 Surge arresters

IEC 60169 Radio-frequency connectors

IEC 60228 Conductors of insulated cables

IEC 60364 Electrical installations of buildings

IEC 60694 High-voltage switchgear and control gear standards

IEC 60793 Optical fibres

IEC 60874 Connectors for optical fibres


International Organization for Standartization


Widely known as ISO, is an international-standard-setting body composed of representatives from various national standards organizations. ISO is not an acronym on initialism for the organization's full name in either official language. In fact, the organization adopted ISO based on the Greek word isos (ἴσος), meaning equal. Recognizing that the organization’s initials would be different in different languages, the organization's founders chose ISO as the universal short form of its name. This, in itself, reflects the aim of the organization: to equalize and standardize across cultures.


Quality Assurance (ISO 9001)


QA for short, refers to a program for the systematic monitoring and evaluation of the various aspects of a project, service, or facility to ensure that standards of quality are being met.


Environmental Management System (ISO 14001)


EMS for short, refers to the management of an organization's environmental programs in a comprehensive, systematic, planned and documented manner.


Health & Safety (ISO 18001)

Is a cross-disciplinary area concerned with protecting the safety, health and welfare of people engaged in work or employment. The goal of all occupational health and safety programs is to foster a safe work environment.


   Copyright © 2011 Prenecon S.A. - All Rights Reserved